Loading cart contents...
View Cart Checkout
Cart subtotal: 0.00

Coffee legends

Coffee was born in Ethiopia. It is said that during a forest fire in Abyssinia coffee fields spread a delicious smell similar to the one find in the roasters.

Witnesses of the fire, caught the grains burned by fire, mashed and cooked them to make a drink : coffee was born.

Another legend says that Kaldi, a young Yemen shepherd, saw his goats to eating the fruits and leaves of an unknown tree and noticed that the animals were more agitated. He told the phenomenon to the monks of the nearby monastery, who rushed to go scoop these strange fruits. Dried them and made an infusion. The feverish turmoil that followed was considered a divine revelation

Some history…

In the eighth century both leaves and freshly picked fruits were used in infusions, but it was only in the fifteenth century that the Arabs toasted grains, reducing them to powder to prepare the refreshing drink we know today.

It was in the sixteenth century that coffee conquered the world, the first coffee establishment appeared in Constantinople, then the Venetians brought the precious nectar to Europe. In 1654, opened the first café in Marseille and then other cities followed the example. In Paris was the Italian Francisco Procopio dei Coltelli that opened in 1702, its own establishment, “Le Procope”, which can still be visited today. It was a meeting place where great thinkers, artists and writers, gathered to relax, have fun and exchange ideas.

…and botany

There are over sixty varieties of coffee (Coffea). This plant belonging to the Rubiaceae family can live up to 40 years and can reach 10 meters height, but in plantations, one keeps it to three meters. Its flowers are white and scented, its leaves are arranged in pairs and remain green all year. The coffee plant has flower and fruit at the same time. Its many flowers evoke the scent of jasmine, are pure white or pink and grouped into “bouquets”. The fruit reaches maturity from 8 to 12 months (6 to 10 months to certain species) and is initially green becomes yellow and finally is crimson red, has an average of 1.7 cm and it’s divided in two parts, each one with a seed.

The coffee tree is divided into two species :

The Robusta coffee

Very common in Africa, grows below 800 meters, it is strong in caffeine, but has less flavour than Arabica.

The Arabica coffee

From the Abyssinian plateau in Ethiopia, grows between 800 and 2000 m above sea level, represents 70% of world production, has a high caffeine content and a very good taste.

Some of the great Arabica coffee

The Colombia Excelso

Coffee beans grown 1800m above sea level, in the central mountain range of the province of Antioquia in Colombia is characterized by a slightly caramelized flavour. The French enjoy its softness and acidity.

The Costa Rica

Cultivated by hand on the slopes of volcanoes, the coffee is manually separated. Full-bodied, rich in flavour and slightly acid.

The Santos Bourbon

Grown in the highlands of Minas Gerais, Brazil, it’s soft and relaxing.

The Maragogype from Nicaragua

Thick coffee beans, grown in the northern mountains and slightly acid.

The Haiti 5x

Café rare, produit en très faible quantité. Tasse extrêmement douce et aromatique. Sans acidité.

The Moka Sidamo

Exceptional quality Arabica, without any chemical treatment and separated by hand, has a very low caffeine content, intense flavour and is slightly acid.

The Kenya AA

Coffee grown at very high altitudes, separated manually, rich and very flavoured, it is one of the best coffees in the world.

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien

Loading cart contents...
View Cart Checkout
Cart subtotal: 0.00

Légendes autour du café

Le café est né en Éthiopie. On raconte que lors d’un incendie de forêt, en Abyssinie, les caféiers en feu dégagèrent une délicieuse odeur, typique de celle que l’on rencontre chez les torréfacteurs.

Les témoins de cet incendie récupérèrent les grains brûlés par le feu, les écrasèrent et les firent cuire afin d’en réaliser un breuvage. Le café était né.

Une autre légende rapporte que Kaldi, un petit pâtre du Yémen, observa ses chèvres qui mangeaient les baies et feuilles d’un arbre inconnu. Il remarqua que ses bêtes devenaient vives et excitées. Il parla de ce phénomène aux religieux du monastère voisin qui s’empressèrent d’aller cueillir ces fruits étranges. Ils les mirent à sécher et les préparèrent en infusion. L’agitation fébrile qui s’ensuivit fut assimilée à une révélation divine.

Un peu d’histoire…

Au VIII siècle, les feuilles et les fruits fraîchement cueillis étaient utilisés en infusion. Ce n’est qu’au XV siècle que les Arabes firent griller les grains entiers sur des dalles de pierre très chaudes, avant de les plier pour les réduire en poudre afin d’en préparer la boisson tonifiante que nous connaissons.

C’est au XVI siècle que le café a conquis le monde. Le premier établissement à café fut ouvert à Constantinople, puis les Vénitiens apportèrent le précieux nectar en Europe. En 1654, s’ouvrit le premier café à Marseille, puis d’autres villes suivirent cet exemple. A Paris, ce fut l’Italien Francisco Procopio dei Coltelli qui créa en 1702 son établissement, « le Procope », que l’on peut encore découvrir à ce jour. Il s’agissait d’un lieu de rencontre où les grands penseurs, les artistes, les écrivains se réunissaient pour se ressourcer, se divertir et échanger des idées.

… et de botanique

Il existe une soixantaine de variété de Coffea. Cette plante fait partie de la famille des rubiacées et peut vivre jusqu’à 40 ans. L’arbre peut atteindre 10 mètres de hauteur, mais dans les plantations on le conserve à 3 mètres pour plus de facilité d’exploitation. Les fleurs sont blanches et parfumées, les feuilles, disposées deux par deux, demeurent vertes toute l’année. Le caféier possède la particularité de porter en même temps la fleur et le fruit. Les fleurs, nombreuses, évoquant l’odeur de jasmin et d’un blanc pur ou rosées, sont groupées par bouquets. Les baies atteignent leur pleine maturité vers 8 à 12 mois (6 à 10 mois pour certaines variétés). Les fruits sont d’abord verts puis jaunes et enfin rouges cramoisis, faisant 1,6 à 1,8cm. Deux loges séparées renferment chacune une graine.

Les caféiers se répartissent en deux espèces :

Le Cofféa robusta

Très répandu en Afrique. Cultivé à des altitudes inférieures à 800m. Il est fort en caféine, mais dégage moins de saveur que l’arabica.

Le Cofféa arabica

Il est originaire des plateaux abyssins, en Éthiopie et pousse entre 800 et 2000 m d’altitude. Il représente 70 % de la production mondiale. Produit en altitude, le café arabica a une teneur en caféine moyenne et une très bonne qualité gustative.

Quelques grands crus arabica :

Le Colombie Excelso

Ce café gragé est cultivé à 1800 m d’altitude dans la Cordillère centrale de la province d’Autioqua, en Colombie. La tasse est caractérisée par un goût légèrement caramélisé dont la suavité et l’acidité est très appréciée des français.

Le Costa Rica

Il est cultivé artisanalement sur les pentes des volcans, trié à la main et gragé. La tasse est corsée, riche en parfums et légèrement acidulée.

Le Santos Bourbon

Ce café est cultivé sur les hauts plateaux du Minas Gerais, au Brésil. La tasse est douce et relaxante.

Le Maragogype du Nicaragua

Ce café gragé à grosses fèves est cultivé dans les montagnes du Nord du Nicaragua. La tasse est  gustative et parfumée. Ce café est légèrement acidulé.

Le Haïti 5X

Ce café est rare et produit en très faible quantité. La tasse est extrêmement douce et aromatique, sans acidité.

Le Moka Sidamo

C’est un arabica lavé d’une qualité exceptionnelle. Il ne subit aucun traitement chimique. Ce café trié à la main. Il a une teneur très faible en caféine, la tasse est particulièrement riche en arômes et légèrement acide.

Le Kenya AA

Ce café gragé est planté à très haute altitude. Il est trié à la main. La tasse est très riche en parfums et acidulée. Il est l’un des meilleurs cafés au monde.

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien